More on “The Scissor Effect”

This is a visual concept that I started teaching after close observation of top players. I began speaking on the scissors effect in an around1980. My students liked it, and I began speaking about it in seminars. I’ve written about this concept in a previous blog post.

The scissor visual is seen from behind the player “directly down the target-line.” The first player that caught my eye with the scissor effect was my old friend Jim Simons. He had just won the PGA Tour event in Hartford, CT. I watched the video of his tee shot off the 72nd hole. It was a perfect drive, dead center, and it ensured his win.

The more I watched that swing over and over again, the more I saw a clear image. It was a vivid picture of scissors opening. One blade of the scissors opens to the left. The golf club and the shaft went left while the ball blistered straight down the fairway like an arrow on the blade of the scissors that remained on the line. The more I watched and replayed that swing, the clearer it became.

Jim Simons and I played tons of golf together at the University of Houston, and when we were playing in amateur golf, and when he was on the tour. But that swing at Hartford fired off my deep impression of how a golf ball is hit hard and straight. It is clear that the club shaft travels up and down the inclined plane. Post impact action clearly indicates that the shaft travels back up the inclined plane. The scissors image helps puts things into perspective. The picture tells the golfer what to do, or at least what should happen. It’s how I wrote and produced “The Powerline” articles and DVD. It was also deep in my mind when I wrote the cover piece “Swing Left to Swing Right” late in 1989.

One other thing I feel you can learn from the scissors image is linear dissociation. In golf terms, the correct action is that the arms stay with the turn. If the arms swing away from the body in an effort to “swing down the target line,” you’re not using “the scissors.” You’re also not swinging efficiently. That’s linear dissociation.  Something I learned from David Lee.

The concept of a “plane.” It can be very simple or it can be very difficult. It depends on what plane you look at and if you also include backswing plane. The scissors are all about impact and post impact swing plane.

 

More on “The Scissor Effect”

One thought on “More on “The Scissor Effect”

Leave a Reply

