Over 200 PGA Pros at Washington Workshop

On October 20, I spoke in front of about 200 PGA professionals in Puyallup, Washington near my boyhood home. In fact, I stayed in the house where I grew up. I was speaking to the Pacific Northwest Section. Went through a lot of the teaching methods…from the classic techniques to stack and tilt, which is what Sean Foley is teaching Tiger Woods. I explained there’s nothing new about Stack and Tilt! Dave Collins, who used to teach at the Jim McLean Golf Schools used it and Ben Doyle who had an early version. Stack and Tilt also takes a lot from Mac O’Grady and Homer Kelley, who started The Golfing Machine, a teaching method. Ben was from the Pacific Northwest and was, in fact, a manual writer at Boeing.

I went through the Eight-Step Swing, which is what we teach at the Jim McLean Golf Schools. We covered…

  • Safety zones
  • Elimination theory
  • Total game
  • Long game
  • Short game
  • Mental game
  • Course management.

I showed them the swings of the players on The Ryder Cup teams…all different swings. We talked about what’s a fundamental and what’s not a fundamental.

It was a great four hours sprinkled with lots of Jackie Burke and Claude Harmon stories.

In fact, I was with Jackie Burke just now in Houston. Jackie is a Masters and PGA Champion.

*

For the Jim McLean Golf School site, go here.

#1 Golf Schools in America

Scott Martin, a copywriter who lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, is helping me with my blog. For his site, go here. Scott’s helping me with a business book.

 

 

Over 200 PGA Pros at Washington Workshop

One thought on “Over 200 PGA Pros at Washington Workshop

  1. Tom says:

    Hi Jim,

    I know this is off topic but I think you need to have a talk with Lexi and her father. While I think it is OK for her to compete against men in minor tours to keep her game sharp she MUST USE THE SAME TEES AS THE GUYS!
    IMO, if she doesn’t, not only is she cheating them, but any money won, no matter how small the amount, is stealing.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

