In Seattle for the Boeing Classic

Currently in Seattle, where I grew up, for the Boeing Classic on the Champions Tour. Great to see lots of friends and golfers I’ve worked with. Have seen Fred Funk, Tom Kite, Dana Quigley, Ben Crenshaw, Tommy Armour, Mark O’Meara, Dan Forsman (his son is caddying for him), Jay Haas, Keith Fergus, and my old Tacoma friend Ken Still, who played in the Ryder Cup. Ken is around 75, enthusiastic as ever (I got a bear hug) and one of the great guys. He still has lesson notes from several years ago when we worked together.

Going to Chambers Bay to watch the U.S. Amateur today and will let you know what I think about the golf course. I played for the first time since shoulder surgery. Felt good.

Also signed new club contract with PowerBilt…great clubs.

Photo to the right is the first time I’ve played since shoulder surgery. I’m at Chambers Bay.

*

Some more from Seattle/Tacoma!

I was just at Chambers Bay for the U.S. Amateur. I watched the semifinal between Patrick Cantlay and Peter Uihlein. My son, Jon, went to Oklahoma State with Peter, who won the match 4 and 3 and will be in the final tomorrow.

Peter’s father is Wally Uihlein, chairman and chief executive officer of Acushnet, parent of Titleist. I used to appear in Titleist ads in the 90s and I really admire Wally and what he’s done at Titleist.

I spent some time with Chambers Bay architect Robert Trent Jones, Jr. who will be making some changes to the course before it hosts the U.S. Open in 2015. There’s only one tree on the course and there’s no sprinkler system. So, unlike other courses in the northwest, it gets really firm…up to 80 yards of roll. RTJ, Jr. also designed Weston, where I live near Miami. Chambers Bay is surreal.

10,000 people showed up to watch at Chambers Bay. Awesome.

Peter’s caddy is assistant coach at Oklahoma State Alan Bratton who is a great guy.

Sunday I’m flying to Utah to Red Ledges to the Jim McLean Golf School there for some clinics. Here’s the site. Mark O’Meara has helped me set up some fishing in Utah…can’t wait for the golf and the fishing.

In Seattle for the Boeing Classic

Leave a Reply

