Doc Rivers stops by…and more…

This afternoon, my friend Doc Rivers, head coach of the Boston Celtics, came by the Doral location of the Jim McLean Golf School. It was an emergency visit for emergency surgery: Doc was hitting the ball on the hosel (I don’t use the word ‘shank’ in this blog…ever). Bobby Cole, one of the lead master instructors here, and I worked with Doc. We hooked him up to the biomechanics machine…when something moves out of sequence, the machine emits a loud beep. Doc was moving his head in front of the ball on the downswing; he was soon hitting the ball better when he got his hips leading instead of his head. I expect floor seats at Boston Garden coming my way…thanks Doc!

I’ll be on WFAN, the New York City sports radio station Noon on Sunday.

I’ve studied the golf swing and I’ve worked with a lot of instructors. By the time I was 30, I had taken lessons from all the top teachers. Many of them will say, “I have all the answers” yet they all contradict each other. Dave Pelz is scientific while Stan Utley is different. Who is right? They both are…stick to one methodology if you want to improve.

One of my sons, Matt, is working at Fishers Island Club on Long Island. He recently played 36 holes with Ray Allen. Matt also won the Pro-Member.

My recovery from shoulder surgery is almost over…I’ll be playing again in about two weeks.

On another note, the latest edition of Golf Digest is out and I have a feature story about developing power. You can read the story here.

For the Jim McLean Golf School site, go here.

#1 Golf Schools in America

Scott Martin, a copywriter who lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, is helping me with my blog. For his site, go here. Scott’s helping me with a business book I’m going to sell initially as an ebook.

Doc Rivers stops by…and more…

Leave a Reply

