Sunday tournament wrap up

Crisite Kerr had another great tournament: a top five finish at the Ricoh Women’s British Open. She is close to regaining the number one female golfer in the world spot.

Fred Couples got a lot of air time at the U.S. Senior Open in Seattle. He lives in Charlotte, N.C. right now but Seattle is Fred’s home town; it’s mine, too.

Fred grew up very close to my house. When he was young, he worked at a driving range in Seattle for a friend. After I left the University of Houston, I helped my coach recruit Freddie to Houston. He roomed with Jim Nantz and Blaine McCallister. Blaine won five tour events; Jim is the top sports announcer in America. Freddie, Blaine, and Jim are called “The Three Amigos” in Houston and run a big charity event together. I had a great night with Jim Nantz last month in New York at our friend’s house next to Winged Foot after an outing at the club that day.

Back to golf…I’ve played Sahalee, the site of the Senior Open, many times. I qualified for a U.S. Open on that course: it must be one of the tightest golf courses anywhere.

My son, Jon, lost a playoff to Kyle Stanley (now on the tour) a few years ago at the Sahalee Players Amateur. In the playoff, they went back to hole 18; they both eagled it. So they went to the par-3 17th and both parred. Then back to 18 which Jon birdied but Kyle eagled again. It was unreal! Dustin Johnson was in that playoff, too. He went out on the first playoff hole.

Finally, I must mention I’ve worked numerous times with Bernhard Langer who has now won the last two senior majors. He is a good friend; I sent him a text tonight. He’s a great guy. It’s too bad he had to beat Freddie in his home town. I know everyone was really rooting for Fred, who is also a great guy. There’s lots of history at Sahalee. I miss the Great Northwest!

For the Jim McLean Golf School site, go here.

Scott Martin, a copywriter who lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, is helping me with my blog. For his site, go here. Scott’s helping me with a business book I’m going to sell initially as an ebook.

Sunday tournament wrap up

One thought on “Sunday tournament wrap up

  1. Jerry Mowlds says:

    Nice job Jim, I think it’s great that you are going to do a blog..You have a ton of great stories from the contacts you have had over the years….Congrats also on the fact that Kerr, Langer, Thompson and others are doing so well thanks to you and the “basics” that you have instilled in them. The ladies are at Pumpkin Ridge in a couple of weeks, will Thompson play? See you this fall.

    Jerry

Leave a Reply

